Our Teams

Each of the team names in Seattle Pride Classic 2022 are inspired by U.S. activists who have fought, sacrificed, and paved the way for LGBTQ+ rights. As we enjoy a fun-filled tournament together, we hope you take away a bit of knowledge on who these individuals are, and their courageous contributions to the LGBTQ+ community.

We will have 10 teams competing, split between two themed conferences. Four in one conference, and six in the other. 

Trailblazers Conference

The ones who did it first and paved the way for progress in the LGBTQ+ community.

Team Harvey Milk

Harvey Bernard Milk was an American politician and the first openly gay man to be elected to public office in California, as a member of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors. Milk was born and raised in New York where he acknowledged his homosexuality as an adolescent, but chose to pursue sexual relationships with secrecy and discretion well into his adult years. His experience in the counterculture of the 1960s caused him to shed many of his conservative views about individual freedom and the expression of sexuality.

Team Luke Prokop

Luke Prokop is a Canadian professional ice hockey defenseman for the Edmonton Oil Kings of the Western Hockey League. He is a prospect for the Nashville Predators of the National Hockey League, who selected him in the 2020 NHL Entry Draft. In 2021, Prokop came out as gay, becoming the first player under contract with an NHL team to do so.

Team Billie Jean King

Billie Jean King is an American former world No. 1 tennis player. King won 39 Grand Slam titles: 12 in singles, 16 in women's doubles, and 11 in mixed doubles. King is an advocate for gender equality and has long been a pioneer for equality and social justice.

Team Marsha P. Johnson

Marsha P. Johnson  was an American gay liberation activist and self-identified drag queen. Known as an outspoken advocate for gay rights, Johnson was one of the prominent figures in the Stonewall uprising of 1969. Though some have mistakenly credited Johnson for starting the riots, Johnson was always forthcoming about having not been present when the riots began. Johnson was a founding member of the Gay Liberation Front and co-founded the radical activist group Street Transvestite Action Revolutionaries (S.T.A.R.), a group dedicated to helping homeless young drag queens, gay youth, and trans women, alongside close friend Sylvia Rivera.

Queer Icons Conference

The legends and visionaries who’ve made history, both culturally and politically, in the LGBTQ community.

Team Sylvia Rivera​

Sylvia Rivera was an American gay liberation and transgender rights activist who was also a noted community worker in New York. Rivera, who identified as a drag queen, participated in demonstrations with the Gay Liberation Front. With close friend Marsha P. Johnson, Rivera co-founded the Street Transvestite Action Revolutionaries, alongside friend Marsha P. Johnson.

Team Laverne Cox​

Laverne Cox is an American actress and LGBT advocate. She rose to prominence with her role as Sophia Burset on the Netflix series Orange Is the New Black, becoming the first transgender person to be nominated for a Primetime Emmy Award in an acting category. In 2015, she won a Daytime Emmy Award in Outstanding Special Class Special as executive producer for Laverne Cox Presents: The T Word, making her the first transgender woman to win the award. In 2017, she became the first transgender person to play a transgender series regular on U.S. broadcast TV as Cameron Wirth on CBS's Doubt.

Team Edie Windsor​

Edith "Edie" Windsor was an American LGBTQ+ rights activist and a technology manager at IBM. She was the lead plaintiff in the 2013 Supreme Court of the United States case United States v. Windsor, which overturned Section 3 of the Defense of Marriage Act and was considered a landmark legal victory for the same-sex marriage movement in the United States. The Obama administration and federal agencies extended rights, privileges and benefits to married same-sex couples because of the decision.

Team RuPaul

RuPaul Andre Charles, known mononymously as RuPaul, is an American drag queen, television judge, recording artist, and model. He is best known for producing, hosting, and judging the reality competition series RuPaul's Drag Race. RuPaul is considered the most commercially successful drag queen in the United States, with Fortune noting him as "easily the world's most famous drag queen." For his work on RuPaul's Drag Race, he has received eleven Primetime Emmy Awards, becoming the most-awarded person of color in the history of the Primetime Emmys.

Team Sue Bird

Suzanne Brigit Bird is an American-Israeli professional basketball player for the Seattle Storm of the Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA). Bird was drafted by the Storm first overall in the 2002 WNBA draft and is considered to be one of the greatest players in WNBA history. As of 2021, Bird is the only WNBA player to win titles in three different decades. She held a front office position for the NBA's Denver Nuggets as their Basketball Operations Associate. She has also played for three teams in Russia. She holds both U.S. and Israeli citizenship.

Team Layshia Clarendon

Layshia Renee Clarendon is an American professional basketball player for the Minnesota Lynx of the Women's National Basketball Association (WNBA). Clarendon is the first openly non-binary WNBA player. Clarendon completed their college career at the University of California, Berkeley in 2013. The 2012–2013 season saw them become a leader of the team and received national recognition for their abilities, culminating in their place as a finalist for the Senior Class Award.